GUNS DIRECT

F A Q 

What are the requirements for buying a firearm?

  • You must be 21 years of age or older

  • You must either be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien with a Green Card or I-94 documentation

  • You cannot be a under indictment for a felony, convicted of a felony or violent misdemeanor, a fugitive from justice, an unlawful user or addicted to controlled substances*, adjudicated to be mentally defective or committed to a mental institution, dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces, subject to a restraining order, someone who has renounced their citizenship to the United States, or an alien admitted illegally into the United States.

 

As of July 1st 2019 a REAL ID is required for any firearm or ammunition transaction. If your ID or Drivers License says "FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY" you will need additional documents for verification. The acceptable documents are as follows:

  • Valid, unexpired U.S. Passport or Passport Card

  • Certified Copy of U.S. Birth Certificate

  • Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545), Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350) or Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240), issued by the U.S. Department of State.

  • Valid, unexpired foreign passport with valid U.S. immigrant visa and approved Record of Arrival/Departure (I-94) form.

  • Certified copy of birth certificate from a U.S. Territory.

  • Certificate of Naturalization or U.S. Citizenship.

  • Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card.

 

*Please note that while the State of California has legalized marijuana for medical and recreational purposes, the federal government does NOT recognize any lawful use of marijuana.  If you use marijuana for any purpose you cannot lawfully purchase a firearm in the United States of America.

 

What documents do I need to present in order to buy a handgun?

  • A valid, unexpired California Driver’s License or ID card

  • A valid, unexpired Firearms Safety Certificate or Handgun Safety Certificate

  • A valid, unexpired Proof of Residence

  • IF the address on your California Driver’s License or ID card is not your current address you will also need a valid, unexpired Proof of Change of Address

  • IF you are not a U.S. citizen you will also need your Permanent Resident Card (Green Card) or your I-94 documentation.

 

What documents do I need to present in order to buy a rifle or shotgun?

  • A valid, unexpired California Driver’s License or ID card

  • A valid, unexpired Firearms Safety Certificate

  • IF the address on your California Driver’s License or ID card is not your current address you will also need a valid, unexpired Proof of Change of Address

  • IF you are not a U.S. citizen you will also need your Permanent Resident Card (Green Card) or your I-94 documentation.

 

What is a Firearms Safety Certificate?

A Firearms Safety Certificate (FSC) is a card issued to you after you take and pass a 30 question written test on general firearms safety and specific California gun laws.  This test can be taken at our shop 7 days a week without an appointment at a cost of $25.  FSC cards are issued immediately upon passing the test and are valid for 5 years from the date of issuance.  A study guide and practice test can be found online here:

http://californiafsc.safetyquizz.com/

 

Are there exemptions to needing a FSC Card?

Yes.  The following individuals are exempt from needing a FSC card provided they present appropriate documentation:

  • Military - Active, Active Reserve, or Honorably Retired

  • California Peace Officer - Active, Reserve, or Honorably Retired

  • Federal Peace Officer – Active or Honorably Retired

  • Particular and Limited Authority Peace Officers

  • Holders of a Special Weapons Permit

  • Operation of Law Representative

  • CA Concealed Weapons Permit Holder

  • Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Certificate Holders

  • CA DOJ Certified Instructor

  • FFL 03 Holder with a COE (Only for Curio & Relic transactions)

 

What is Proof of Residence?

Proof of Residence (POR) is a state requirement for purchasing a handgun that serves as proof that you live where you say you live.  It must include your name and the current address.  If using a bill, your correct address must be listed as the service address and the bill must have a service date within the last 90 days. 

Guns Direct will accept the following as POR:

  • CA DMV Vehicle Registration

  • Water and Power Bill

  • Gas Bill

  • Trash Pickup Bill

  • Landline Phone Bill

  • Internet Access Bill

  • Cable/Satellite Television Bill

  • Residential Lease Agreement

  • CA Concealed Weapons Permit

  • Private Security Guard Card

  • Private Security Firearms Card

 

What is Proof of Change of Address?

Proof of Change of Address (COA) is a federal requirement for purchasing any firearm when your ID doesn’t have your current address listed on it.  It must include your name and current address.  If using a bill, your correct address must be listed as the service address and the bill must have a service date within the last 90 days. 

Guns Direct will accept the following as COA:

  • CA DMV Vehicle Registration

  • CA DMV Vehicle Registration Renewal

  • Water and Power Bill (only from a city or state governmental source – So Cal Edison bills do NOT qualify)

  • Property Tax Statement (for your primary residence)

  • USPS Confirmation of Change of Address Letter

  • Jury Summons Notice

  • Proof of Voter Registration

  • CA Concealed Weapons Permit

  • Private Security Guard Card

  • Private Security Firearms Card

  •  

What about my U.S. Passport?  Can’t I use that as a form of ID?

No.  Due to California’s requirement of a state issued ID card your passport is useless in a firearms transaction.  

 

 

FIREARMS ABLE TO BE PURCHASED

 

Are there certain firearms that are illegal to buy in CA?

Yes.  California has more strict firearms laws than most other states and there are limits as to what can be purchased legally.  Handguns must either be on the California Approved Handgun Roster or be exempt from the Roster.  Rifles must have barrels at least 16” long and must be 30” long in their shortest configuration.  Shotguns must have barrels at least 18” long and must be 26” long in their shortest configuration.  No firearm listed as banned in the Roberti-Roos Assault Weapons Control Act of 1989 or in Senate Bill SB-23 of 2000 can be purchased.  Additionally, firearms with certain features or combination of features are deemed “Assault Weapons” by the state and cannot be purchased.  Determining if a given firearm or given feature makes a firearm an Assault Weapon can be done by using the following links:

http://www.calguns.net/caawid/flowchart.pdf for rifles

http://www.calguns.net/caawid/sgflowchart.pdf for shotguns

http://www.calguns.net/caawid/hgflowchart.pdf for handguns

 

What is the California Approved Handgun Roster?

The California Approved Handgun Roster is a list of handguns that the state allows gun dealers to sell.  Certain firearms are classified as “Exempt” from needing roster status (single action revolvers with barrels at least 3” long and at least 7” in overall length, Olympic style target pistols, etc.)  All non-exempt handguns not on the roster cannot be sold by California firearms dealers.  Please note that just because a given handgun is not on the roster that does not mean that it is illegal to buy, own, or sell that firearm.  It means that it is illegal for a gun store to sell that firearm.  Off roster handguns can still be bought, owned, or sold via Private Party Transfers and Intrafamiliar Transfers.

 

Can’t I just buy an off roster firearm out of state or online?

No.  Firearms dealers cannot deliver off roster firearms unless the firearm was part of a Private Party Transfer or an Intrafamilial Transfer.

 

Is anyone exempt from having to abide by the roster?

Yes.  Active law enforcement officers are not bound by the roster and may purchase any handgun that is not illegal. 

 

What is a Private Party Transfer?

A Private Party Transfer (PPT) occurs when one California resident sells his privately owned firearm to another California resident.  Both parties must go to a firearms dealer, present the needed documentation, and fill out paperwork.  At that time the dealer will take custody of the firearm for the mandatory waiting period.  The buyer then returns to the dealer after his waiting period is over and takes possession of the firearm just as if he had purchased it from the dealer.  Note:  Buying a firearm from a private individual outside of California does not qualify as a PPT.  As stated above, PPTs are not bound by the California Approved Handgun Roster.

 

THE PURCHASE PROCESS

 

What is the process for purchasing a firearm?

You bring in all of the necessary documentation mentioned above, choose and pay for your firearm, and fill out the Federal Form 4473 (4473) and California Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) paperwork, along with other forms depending on the type of firearm you purchase.  You then have a 10-day waiting period that must pass before you can return to our store and take delivery of your firearm.  We will only contact you during your waiting period if there is a problem or a delay.  Otherwise, you may assume you have been approved for delivery.

 

Other than the cost of the firearm itself what taxes and fees do I have to pay?

You will pay sales tax on the cost of the firearm and a $25 fee for your DROS paperwork.

 

Do I have to wait 10 days for all firearms or just for handguns?

All firearm transactions require a 10-day (240 continuous hours) wait before they can be delivered.  Your waiting period is calculated to the second and begins when your DROS is submitted to the CA DOJ.  For example, if you purchase your firearm at 2:15pm on Saturday the 5th your earliest pick up date and time would be 2:16pm on Tuesday the 15th.

 

What if I can’t pick up my firearm on my first available day of delivery?

Your DROS paperwork is valid for 30 days from the day of filing.  The first 10 days of that time is consumed by your waiting period.  Therefore you have a 20 day window to take delivery.  If you fail to take delivery by the end of your 30 days your paperwork becomes invalid and you will have to repeat the entire paperwork process again, pay an additional DROS fee, and wait another 10 days.

 

Am I subject to a criminal background check?

Yes.  The DROS paperwork submitted to the CA DOJ is used to perform a criminal background check that is conducted during the 10-day waiting period.  If you have any question as to your ability to pass a background check we strongly recommend that you contact CA DOJ before starting paperwork on a firearm.

 

I’ve bought several firearms from Guns Direct.  Do I have to go through this entire process every time?

Yes.  Unfortunately you will have to provide correct documentation and fill out paperwork each and every time you make a purchase.  This is required by state and federal law and even if it were not we have no way to keep physical documentation in an easily searchable format.

 

Is there a limit to the number of firearms I can purchase?

There is no limit to the number of firearms a person can own.  However there is a limit to the number of firearms that can be purchased within a given time period.  Currently a Californian may not process paperwork on more than one handgun within a 30 day period.  If a buyer wanted to purchase two handguns at the same time one would be processed normally and the other would be put on Layaway status (the firearm is purchased but no 4473 or DROS paperwork would be done) until 31 days after the purchase of the first one.  Then the buyer would return and do the paperwork on the second firearm.   Handguns sold via PPT are not counted against the 1-in-30 limit except if the PPT takes place within Los Angeles city limits.  There are currently no restrictions on the number of rifles or shotguns that can be purchased at the same time.

 

What happens if I fail my background check/change my mind/cannot complete my purchase?

If for any reason you cancel or are denied on your background check you will be charged a 15% restocking fee of the purchase price of the firearm to cover the labor costs to reverse a sale and cancel paperwork.  DROS fees are non-refundable as CA DOJ charges our account for the DROS fee the instant it is submitted.  The balance of your refund can be credited back to you or can be put towards another purchase if the cancellation was voluntary. If your status comes back as "Undetermined" you will not be charged a restocking fee but, the state fees are non-refundable.

 

What if I take delivery of my firearm and change my mind?  Can I return it?

No.  All firearm sales are final.   Once delivery is made the firearm has changed hands and is now legally classified as a “Used” firearm even if it never gets taken out of the box.  Due to this fact we strongly urge shoppers to take advantage of our team’s expertise and advice in helping to make the right firearm choice for their purposes, situation, and budget.

 

What if my new firearm is defective/broken/damaged?  Do I bring it back to Guns Direct?

No.  Any and all warranties are between the manufacturer of a firearm and the purchaser.  We do not offer warranty service, repair, or shipping on any firearm sold.  By California law, every firearms manufacturer is bound to honor their warranty directly with the purchaser.  Firearms needing warranty service can be shipped directly from the purchaser to the manufacturer without third party involvement. 

Please understand that while we sympathize with the disappointment and frustration of purchasing a firearm and not having it work as advertised, we will only muddy the waters and delay the return of your firearm by getting involved.  We will be happy to assist you in contacting the manufacturer and lending advice on how to properly pack and ship your return.

 

If I’m buying or selling a firearm via a Private Party Transfer do I need to make an appointment?

Appointments are recommended but not necessary.  A Private Party Transfer (PPT) takes longer to process than a regular transaction and if we have multiple PPTs to handle we will always take the person with an appointment first before handling walk-ins.

 

If I’m selling a firearm via a Private Party Transfer what documentation do I need to bring?

The seller in a Private Party Transfer (PPT) needs to bring their valid, unexpired California Driver’s License or ID card.  If the address on your California Driver’s License or ID card is not your current address you will also need a valid, unexpired Proof of Change of Address.

 

TRANSFERS/LAYAWAYS/SPECIAL ORDERS

 

Can I purchase a firearm online and have it sent to Guns Direct for transferal?

Yes.  Provided the firearm is legal for us to transfer, we will be happy to act as the receiving Federal Firearms License Holder (FFL) for your transaction.  You will simply pay for the firearm online and give the seller our email address for purposes of a “Dealer to Dealer” transfer.  We will exchange information with the seller’s FFL and they will ship the firearm to us.  We will contact you once it has arrived and then you simply need to come in and fill out paperwork just as if you were purchasing the firearm from us.  Our fee for Dealer to Dealer transfers is $80.  Additionally you will have to pay $25 for your DROS fee and if the firearm does not come with a CA approved cable lock you will either need to purchase a lock or fill out a Gun Safe Affidavit.  Lastly you will be charged sales tax as if the firearm had been purchased from our shop so we will require an invoice from the seller with your name, contact information, and purchase price.

 

Can Guns Direct order a firearm for me even if they don’t carry it normally?

Of course!  While we try to offer a broad selection of brands and models the simple fact is that we can’t possibly keep one of every model of firearm in stock.  Provided we can find a distributor that has it in stock we will happily make a special order.  We do not charge any fees for ordering a non-stock item and normally we will ask for a 50% deposit.  Should the firearm in question be something unusual or extraordinarily expensive we may require full prepayment but we will always confirm the price and deposit with you before ordering.  If a distributor has the item in stock we will normally receive it within 5-7 days. If you Special Order a firearm and your background check is cancelled, denied or undetermined you will be subject to a 30% restocking fee. This is because, once ordered, firearms cannot be returned to our distributors.

 

Does Guns Direct offer a Layaway Plan?

Yes.  A deposit of 20% of the total cost of a firearm will hold that firearm for 45 days.  By that time the purchaser would need to put another 30% down and start paperwork on the firearm.  They would then have the normal 30 days to pick up and pay off the remaining 50%.  If a customer needs a layaway due to not being able to pick up within 30 days or to avoid the 1-in-30 DROS limitation and pays off the firearm in full then we will hold the firearm for as long as needed.

 

State law prevents me from having ammunition shipped directly to my home.  Can I have it shipped to Guns Direct instead?

Unfortunately, we are not taking ammo transfers at this time.

 

Thanks for all the answers above but I still have questions.  How do I get answers?

Please feel free to contact our store during the business hours listed below.  We are happy to answer any questions you may have and hope to earn your business.

Mon – Fri    11am - 7pm

Sat       10am - 6pm

Sun      10am – 5pm

© 2016 by Guns Direct. Website proudly made by www.ashleyerikson.com

  • White Yelp Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon